Monday Musings

Yes…we are back to the hot topic of Monday’s Musings! 

This weekend was a busy one with our adult Christmas party on Friday night at church and then our community carol sing on Saturday afternoon. 

Friday night was a ton of fun!  We enjoyed a lot of food and fellowship with our church family for about 3 hours.  Lots of fun games and a present swap made the night a blast.  One of the games I’ll be sharing with you over the next few weeks in bits and pieces.  I’ll explain more below.

Saturday we had planned a wonderful afternoon of singing carols with some specials by our church and another couple that joined us from the valley.  We had 7 visitors, I think.  What a blessing. 

And I have to apologize to the men’s quartet again.  I was supposed to transpose the song down two keys and I TOTALLY FORGOT!  They had claimed, though, that they couldn’t sing as high as the song went – guess what????   THEY SANG EVERY NOTE SPOT ON!  Haha.  It was great.  They did an awesome job on “Truth Is Marching On”… lots of enthusiasm from them.  

And the children’s song “Come On Ring Those Bells” was adorable!  I love hearing children sing. 

I thoroughly enjoyed being able to sing along with the ladies on “Jesus Is Born” – one of my favorite Christmas songs. 

Overall it was a great afternoon. 

I don’t have any pictures but I know some people took some so if I can snag some I’ll post them later on.

Sunday I spent at home with a sick little boy.  The busy weekend proved to be a little much for him.  He was already suffering from a cold and it sent him over the edge.  He fell asleep on the way home from the church Saturday afternoon (it’s a 5 minute drive).  He’s never fallen asleep on the way home before.  And he slept on Hazen’s shoulder the whole way up to our apartment (also a first!)   It was cute.  He was definitely VERY tired. 

So…our pastor shared a game with us on Friday night that I had a blast with.  Hazen and I worked on it together and our two heads were MUCH better than one!   So I thought I would share it with you over the next couple of weeks.

This is how it works:

Each Christmas carol or song is written in Old English or scientific language.  Without using a dictionary (but you may use a hymnbook although not all will be in the hymnbook) see if you can figure out which song is being represented:

Here is the first one (and it made me laugh the most).  Leave your answers in the comment section.

Castaneous-coloured seed vesicated in conflagration

 

Happy Monday My Friends!

For His Glory,

Amanda

2 thoughts on “Monday Musings

  1. Oh wowzers, I’ve done some of these “confusing carols” before, but this one is new! I can’t figure it out…yet. I’m going to keep pondering, lol! =)

    • Don’t feel bad…a lot of people had a hard time with them. I’ll post the answers on Saturday…so you won’t be kept in suspense for too long! Then I’ll have a few more next week.=)

Leave a Reply

