Ahhh…back to normal posts

That 30 days of Handmade gifts really took me out of my comfort zone as I didn’t really have the freedom to write about anything else!  Ack!  Because we all know how much I love to talk about random stuff, hehe.

I am excited about moving into December (can you believe we’re already here?) and posting about “Christmas” things.

I want to tell you about the wonderful Bible study I am joining in on with Good Morning Girls.  I had talked to you about following them through Colossians starting back in September.  Now we are going through an Advent study.  We are into the second week now but you can still sign up to receive their emails.  In those emails you will find all the material you need to join in.  Really, the only thing I use is the SOAP bookmark – on it they outline what verses to read each day.  It really is helpful in giving direction.  I don’t like just opening my Bible and reading whatever comes to mind.  And maybe that’s a flaw in me…am I not giving the Holy Spirit room to lead me?  I don’t know.  But I do know I feel my relationship to Christ growing closer through these directed studies. 

The Good Morning Girls will send you an email on Monday, Wednesday, and Friday just sharing their thoughts on the passages you are reading that week.   It focuses your thoughts on what the verses are saying (and sometimes they send fun recipes).

This week’s selection of verses on the Advent of Christ are centered on the word Love (last week we looked at Hope).   This morning we read Matthew 1:18-25 and Luke 2:1-7.   I thought I would share with you my thoughts from these verses.

Love for a child is so different from any other.

For Joseph – to experience it knowing this Babe was not “his” child

For Mary – wondering what it will mean for this Babe, being supernaturally conceived,

And for God, the Father – watching His Son being cared for by flawed humans…

THIS IS INCREDIBLE, UNCONVIEVABLE

LOVE

 

How do you plan on showing God’s love to your family, friends, and community this Christmas?  It is our DUTY as Christians to spread the word.  How can we keep it to ourselves?   By not sharing God’s love we are showing how incredibly selfish we, as humans, are.  So let’s get out of comfort zones and DO something this Christmas.

I am looking forward to passing out flyers this afternoon with the church in anticipation of our Community Carol Sing next Saturday.  If you are in the Halifax area we would love to see you!  2-4pm on Saturday, December 8th at New Testament Baptist Church of Halifax.

I’ll be blogging more about it this week. 

For now, Happy Sunday Everyone!

“This is the day that the Lord hath made, let us rejoice and be glad in it.”

For His Glory,

Amanda

Leave a Reply

