Cozy Pants–Day #27

Tutorials for pajama pants have been floating all over the internet and I thought I would take today’s post to explain away some of the misconceptions behind creating your own pair (while showing you how to make a fabulous gift).

I think pj’s make a great present…even if you make them for yourself!  I have a bad habit of just picking up a pair of worn comfy pants from Frenchy’s because I’m too cheap to buy new.  And seriously, I know my husband is not the only one who doesn’t appreciate such bed wear.  We can be comfortable and look stylish too!

I picked up this adorable stiff flannel at our fabric store for about $4 a meter.  It takes about 2 meters to make an adult-sized pair of pants (this goes for men, too).

IMG_3890

It’s a pink zebra stripe material…I think it’s adorable!  These are the pants I made for myself for Christmas.  I have material to make D and H some as well.  So excited about new pj’s for Christmas!

Now, all the tutorials will tell you to just take a pair of existing pj pants, lay them over your material and cut away.  NOT TRUE!!!!   Do not make this fatal mistake.  It is important that you DO NOT use a jersey knit pair of pj’s as your pattern.

WHY?  Because jersey stretches around your body and is not a true pattern of your size (sorry ladies).   Unless the material you are using is a jersey…put those pants back in the drawer!

Now…you CAN use them if you have to…IF you add extra material around the edges (you can always take in a seam, you can never make it bigger).

I recommend using a pair of pants that are stiff (like jeans) to make a pattern with.

IMG_3790

Here I did use a pair of jersey knit pants but these are too big on me.  AND, I added a ton extra all around.  I took in a lot of seams and I may still take in some more BUT, at least I can do that.

Your pattern pieces should look something like this.  And you really want them to look like this.  Make sure those crotch pieces jut out from the body.  There is a math to this but I won’t bore you with you the details.

Pattern picture

(okay, so my skills in Paint are not that great – don’t judge, lol!)

You need two of the front and two of the back.

If you are going to do an elastic waist, make sure to add 2 or 3 extra inches on the top to fold down to make a casing for the elastic.

Otherwise you can add a waistband on as I will in this tutorial.

Now, some of the tutorials I looked at made these next steps really confusing and difficult but it’s actually pretty simple

Put your two front pieces together (right sides together).  Now sew from the crotch up. Do the same with the back pieces.

IMG_3793

You can barely see the red line I drew…but look where the scissors are…that is what you sew on both pieces.

Then open up your pieces and lay them right sides together, front to back.

IMG_3794

And sew up the outside of the leg on both sides.  Do not sew the inside leg yet.

This is where you hem your pants.  Now, I’m lazy so I added a piece on the bottom of the pants so I didn’t have to hem.

IMG_3795

IMG_3797

I took a piece of black fabric and made it twice as wide as I wanted on the bottom (so I could fold it in half and not have to deal with hemming anything).  Then you pin the black fabric onto your pant leg with the raw edges matching.  Pin it on the outside (like above) so that when it folds down your seam is on the inside.  Do the same for both sides.

Now you can sew up the inner legs and around the crotch.

IMG_3798

For the waist you can do two things

a. Fold over, sew, and add elastic    OR

b. Make a waistband using stretchy material and attach it to your pants.

IMG_3796

IMG_3889

IMG_3890

They’re an easy gift to make – I’ve made D a few pairs for pajamas already.  I’m excited about being able to wear these come Christmas.

I might even add a cute crocheted tie around the waist.  If you use jersey to make your waistband, you can just cut two holes in the middle of the front and insert your ties.

So go get crafty!!!

Leave a Reply

