It’s Beginning to Look a Lot like Christmas!–Day #25

I love decorating for Christmas (or for winter as I told one friend).  I just love greenery in my house and snowflakes hanging everywhere!  It just makes me happy…I like to leave my decorations up till February (or Valentines…the next major holiday).

I have never been one to make wreaths.  My mom always had a nice one for our front door at home and here I never put one on my front door.  I just thought that they cost too much money and I never had the money to spend to spend on one.  Even just to buy the greenery to make one seemed to cost a lot!

I have to admit that I would have loved to receive one as a gift.  I love wreaths…they just seem to dress up your house/apartment.

With the advent of Pinterest, however, I began to see that making wreaths could be a whole lot easier (and cheaper!) than I thought. (AND, what an awesome home made gift!)

I saw this neat idea of using a coat hanger on everythingfab.com

This particular tutorial was on hot gluing ornament balls to the coat hanger – and they really do look gorgeous.  BUT…ornaments have really gone up in price this year (one year I got a huge box of them for $5…this year the same size box was was $15) and I’m cheap – I admit it!

So, when I was pulling out my decorations I realized that I had a length of greenery that I had cut from one of those cheap 9’ pieces (about $2 at Walmart).  I had used it on my table as a centerpiece last year but didn’t want to use it for the same thing again – so I ad-libbed.

IMG_3811

I used the hanger and bent it to as circle a shape as I could get it.  Then I bent my length of greenery (about 2 1/2 feet – so you could three wreaths from one length of greenery) into a circle shape and hot glued it to the hanger.

IMG_3812

I like this idea because it creates something on the back of the wreath (the hook of the hanger) for hanging it on your door, etc.

Then I took my cheap (ahem, dollar store) ornaments and hot glued them to the wreath.  It only took a small dab on the back of each one to make it stay (in other words, hardly any glue at al!).

IMG_3813

I’m terrible at taking pictures…urgh.  And I think it looked better without the ribbon (it might be coming off in the next day)

I added some Christmassy ribbon and a bow at the top…and hung our “C” we usually have on our door over the hook and in behind the ribbon.  I think if you had access to a plug outside that it would look awesome with lights strung through it.  I need to find some lights that run on batteries…they would look great!

And you could do so much with them.  I have an idea for adding some musical instruments or notes to mine and removing the ribbon (I’ve never been good with bows).  We’ll have to see how it eventually turns out.  You could really make these to fit people’s personalities, though…music notes, little pop cans (for coke lovers), buttons and spools of thread for sewers, there are so many possibilities!

I would love to see any that you make!  Share your work and happy wreath making!

*UPDATED – I added some tulle to the back of my wreath and took off most of the ribbon – much happier with this result.

 

3 thoughts on “It’s Beginning to Look a Lot like Christmas!–Day #25

  1. I simply want to mention I am all new to blogs and certainly savored this website. Very likely I’m going to bookmark your blog . You absolutely have outstanding article content. Cheers for revealing your web page.

Leave a Reply

