“The Bridesmaid” by Beverly Lewis

Yes, I have another book review for you!

This one is from Bethany House Publishers.

Beverly Lewis is one of my favorite authors.  I blogged about her book, The Fiddler, that came out in the spring.  Sadly, this one I was not as impressed with.  There seemed to be something missing from the actual writing.  I’m not even sure I could put my finger on it.  It didn’t feel like something she had written, though.  I enjoyed the story but I have to admit I was a little disappointed with it overall.

The story is about an Amish woman (obviously, lol) who is the bridesmaid in 3 weddings – and we all have heard the saying, ‘three times a bridesmaid never a bride’.  Her family is losing hope of her ever marrying when she meets a young man and falls madly in love.  The book takes you through a series of twists and turns as you wonder if this romance will ever work out – or are these two Amish people destined to marry someone else.

Like I said, the storyline was good.  But it was such an easy read I finished it in about 4 hours (over the course of 2 days).  I like books that have a little more depth to them (like the Fiddler) and that cause you to think a bit.  But, overall, it was a good book and I would recommend it.

Leave a Reply

