Wrap up Tight!–Day #17 of Handmade November

It’s Saturday – whoo hoo!  I love Saturdays.  Especially when we have the mornings to just enjoy breakfast, our coffee…and being together as a family.  There’s nothing like it.

One of the things I love about having a family is that I get to create items for us to wear (sometimes matching, lol).

Today’s handmade is crocheted – but you can knit it as well (if you knit).

IMG_3727

This is a hat and scarf set I made for myself…it matches the winter coat my husband bought me when we were engaged…=).

So…in honour of that I made him a matching set:

IMG_3723

IMG_3724

I love the black stripe through the scarf.  And I love this colour of gray.  I haven’t actually seen it out yet this year because I want to pick some up.

On the back I stitched a cross (that he didn’t even notice until a year later! lol)

IMG_3726

I’ve made a number of these hats in various colours for different people.  And, I made little man one in black (so it will match Mom’s and Dad’s).

IMG_3728

Yup, I love winter…and I love hats! =)  I don’t wear scarves a whole lot because I feel like I’m being choked to death, but some days you just gotta have one….brrr.

You can also make mittens if you’re into that.  I’ve thought about making myself a pair of gloves this year but it seems like an unnecessary amount of time…so I probably won’t.  hehe.

IMG_3183

This is a free pattern I found and I added the argyle diamond pattern onto it (you can be very creative with hats!)

December 2010 001

And this one is a baby hat I did with a snowflake embellishment.

So go find yourself a wonderful pattern (msg me if you want to try the above patterns) and start crocheting! These can be done in about 4 hours. You could make a lot of them before Christmas! =)

4 thoughts on “Wrap up Tight!–Day #17 of Handmade November

  1. Great post. I was checking constantly this blog and I am impressed! Very helpful info particularly the last part 🙂 I care for such info a lot. I was looking for this particular information for a very long time. Thank you and best of luck.

    • Hi! Glad you “returned the favor” =) I love having people check out my writing…and I LOVE getting feedback comments. Feel free to use anything on my blog. I just ask that you note that it came from me. =) Thanks.

Leave a Reply

