Spa sighs Part 2–Day #15 of Handmande November

Yesterday I showed you how you can make bath salts super easy and cheaply!  Today I’m throwing another bath recipe at you and this one everyone loves.

My friends first introduced me to bath bombs at a store we have here in Nova Scotia called Lush.  AMAZING.

The things are HUGE.

And smell oh so good.

So I decided to recreate them myself.  And guess what?

THEY WERE AWESOME!!!!

I love baths.  They are so relaxing and this recipe I made for the first time for my mom night back in August.  They were a hit with the ladies.

I found the recipe on MarthaStewart.com – click here to go to it. I will tell you right now that I did not use organic cane sugar in my recipe, BUT, I do not recommend you using white sugar, you probably should use the cane sugar if you can get your hands on it.  And I will tell you why.

White sugar is EXTREMELY processed.  I use white sugar for baking simply because I don’t get to the health food store often enough to get the cane.  When I taught school in the valley area the health food store was easily accessible so I went there a lot and I used their natural flour and sugar – and you do notice the difference.  I would say for bath fizzies that you would want the more natural sugar.  If you suffer from chronic yeast infections, etc…using processed sugar in your bath fizzie would probably make it worse.  That’s my two cents worth – you can do what you want! =)   It will work with normal white sugar.

Now – if you don’t like the idea of using sugar at all – Martha Stewart actually suggests substituting epsom salts in place – which I did…and guess what?  You won’t know the difference.

  • 1/2 cup citric acid
  • 1 cup baking soda
  • 3/4 cup cornstarch
  • 1/4 cup organic cane sugar
  • About 6 drops food coloring
  • 10 to 15 drops essential oil(s)
  • Special equipment: 2-ounce travel-size spray bottle, plastic pipette, silicone ice-cube tray, storage jars

Directions

  1. Stir together citric acid, baking soda, and cornstarch in a glass measuring cup.
  2. Pass mixture through a fine sieve or a flour sifter into a mixing bowl. Stir in sugar.
  3. Fill spray bottle with water, and add food coloring. Spritz mixture lightly (it should become damp but not fizzy) until you can pack mixture with your hands.
  4. Using pipette, add oil, 1 drop at a time, until strength of scent is to your liking. Using a metal spoon or your hands, mix ingredients until color is even throughout (mixture will begin to dry out; when this happens, spritz until packable again).
  5. Spoon into ice-cube tray, pressing firmly. Let dry at room temperature overnight. Pop out of tray gently. Transfer to jars.

DO NOT use too much water.  I warn you.  The citric acid will foam up and your fizzies will turn into a nasty mess of foam, lol.  But, although I was horribly worried about this, I didn’t have any problems.  They all worked out great.  And I didn’t even use an ice cube tray for them all.  I just packed some into a ball shape and they kept their shape.

IMG_3685

You can sort of see the round one in the back.  The rectangle-shaped ones were from a dollar store ice cube tray – the silicone bottomed ones so they came out nice and easy.

IMG_3682

And don’t forget a pretty label, piece of fabric, or ribbon to dress it up.

P.S. Wondering where to find citric acid?  You can find it at your local health food store.  It was pretty cheap for a little baggie of it.

2 thoughts on “Spa sighs Part 2–Day #15 of Handmande November

  1. I’ve been surfing online more than three hours today, yet I never found any interesting article like yours. It’s pretty worth enough for me. Personally, if all website owners and bloggers made as good content as you did, the internet would be much more useful than ever before.

Leave a Reply

