I-Spy With My Little Eye–Day #13

I have been having so much fun creating homemade gifts this year.  I have a couple to make this week so I can add them to this list.

We had a wonderful Remembrance Day at our church and enjoyed some family time yesterday since Hazen had Monday off.  I got to spend an hour browsing the fabric store – do you know how cathartic that is for a fabric addict?  hehehe

But on to Day #13 in our Handmade November series.  I hope you’re enjoying it as much as I am!  If you are, please share my posts with your friends and family.

Today I am sharing with you one of my ultimate kid’s gifts.  I would have loved to have gotten one of these when I was a kid.  We had Richard Scary books and Where’s Waldo?  I always loved Richard Scary because he hid a glowbug on every page…My parents got my nephew one for Christmas last year and my brother, brother-in-law and I squished together on the couch to find the glow bug on each page with my nephew (apparently some of us never grow up!).

Finding things, seaching, is one thing kids love.  And this “I-Spy” book will be on the top of their most played-with items this Christmas.  I guarantee it!

Found on deliacreates.blogspot.ca, this I-Spy book is completely crafted by YOU.

Delia took a white table and placed it against a white wall for her backdrop.  Then she used her sons toys to create a scene (basically just dropping the toys out of the box onto the table).   This particular one she was going for colours (it’s called a Rainbow I-Spy book).  So as you can see in the above picture it’s mostly browns and greens.  Then…you take pictures of certain items within the scene and make a collage of them (if you don’t know how to do a collage there are a number of good programs out there that are free…like fotoflexer…Fotoflexer is an online program that you upload your pictures to, edit, and then download them…you can put up to 25 pictures in one collage)

Delia bought one of those cheap ‘single photo to a page’ books that you can get at the dollar store and put the scene and it’s collage page together.

If you’re doing it for your child they can get involved helping you set up the “scenes”…and they will love the finished product having all their toys in it.   And, too, it will act like a memory keeper because when those toys are old and worn out and thrown out…they’ll have a permanent memory of those toys in their I-Spy books.   I plan on making a couple of these as well (especially for one special little nephew who lives quite far away – it will package nicely for the mail).

Have fun planning your scenes!

2 thoughts on “I-Spy With My Little Eye–Day #13

  1. Thanks – I thought it was pretty neat when I saw it. And the nice thing is that you can make it as big or as small as you want (in terms of how many pages are in it).

Leave a Reply

