A Recipe From my Sister’s Kitchen

I promised this recipe yesterday!  Ahhhhgghh!  Forgive me, those of you who were waiting for it.  I apologize profusely.   I didn’t actually forget.  I thought about it all day.  I was just working on other stuff, and then we were at church last night for special meetings…and you know how it is.

This bread/roll recipe is the first yeast bread that I’ve made by myself that worked.  I was a little worried because it didn’t really rise like I thought it should during the “rising” period.  My yeast is past it’s expiration date, sigh.  But, after the bread came out of the oven it had grown to twice it’s size.  So, I can’t complain. =)

I made 12 rolls plus a loaf of bread with this recipe.  I only have one loaf pan so I turned the rest into rolls (my sister’s idea).  She got this recipe from a friend of hers so is it plagiarism to say it came from her kitchen? hehe

Blender Bread

4 cups warm water

3/4 cup oil

1 Tbsp yeast

7 Tbsp sugar

1 Tbsp salt

71/2 – 8 cups flour

Put all the ingredients in the blender and blend until mixed.  Add the flour in portions until it looks like dough.   Let it rise for an hour, kneading every 15 minutes.  Set bread in pans and let rise for 1 1/2 to 2 hours.   Bake at 375F for:

Buns: 15 min.

Bread: 20 min.

I’m not sure if I can explain what bread dough is supposed to look like unless you’ve already made it (or tried to) before and I didn’t get a picture of it.  Basically, your dough should be dry enough that it is springy when you touch it.  It shouldn’t stick to your fingers.  It takes a lot of flour to get to this stage.

I will also add that I did use some oatmeal flour as well (I ran out of regular flour and am SO THANKFUL for the baby bullet that lets you grind your own oatmeal)…and it doesn’t seem to have affected it at all.  I didn’t use a huge amount, probably 2 cups or something.

Having a table blender would also be a lot easier than using my hand blender.  My wrists were killing me by the time I was finished.  But the finished product is soooo worth it!

IMG_3368

Not such a great picture (I hate my flash) but this is one of my rolls.  So yum.  I’ve been eating sandwiches with these and fresh chicken and tomatoes…I’m drooling right now, can you tell?

IMG_3370

Here’s my loaf of bread.  We haven’t cut it yet.  But we’re having company today for lunch so it is going to get cut for that.  We’re doing fresh today.  Fresh sliced tomatoes from my friend, Liz’s garden; fresh, homemade bread; sliced meat;…fresh homemade salsa and tostitos…how many people should I expect?  hehehe

Happy Saturday…and I hope you all enjoy bread making this week.

Leave a Reply

