Banana Chocolate Chip Bars

First, I have to say HAPPY BIRTHDAY to a big, 1-year-old, little man.  I can’t believe he’s a year old already!

Now, on to food, lol.  Everyone I know who’s tasted one says this is one of the best squares they’ve had.  And I think it’s pretty health conscious.  It isn’t chock full of sugar.  And it has good stuff like oatmeal and bananas.  Hey, this could be a breakfast bar!

Recipe:

1 cup plus 2 tbsp all- purpose floer

1 cup plus 2 tbsp oats

1/4 cup plus 2 tbsp chopped almonds, toasted (optional)

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/4 tsp salt

3/4 cup packed brown sugar

1/2 cup margarine

2 small bananas, peeled

1/2 cup chocolate chips

1/2 tsp grated orange peel (optional)

1. Combine flour, oats, almonds, baking soda, and salt

2. Beat sugar and margarine until light and fluffy.  Add flour mixture and beat until well combined.  Press half the mixture in an 8-inch square baking pan coated with vegetable spray.  Bake in 350F oven 10-12 minutes.  Cool.

3.  Dice bananas (11/2 cups).  Combine with chocolate chips and orange peel.  Spread over cooked crust.  Top with remaining flour mixture.  Press lightly.  Bake 20 to 25 minutes until golden.  Cool.  Cut into bars.  Makes 12 bars.

I don’t have a picture of these yummy concoctions.  But let me tell you they are good!

I do have pictures of my latest re-creation of my butter tarts.  Oh my.  These turned out so wonderful.  Hazen ate most of them in one night (good thing I froze half the batch, hehehe).

IMG_3240

You can check out my previous post on these butter tarts here and the actual recipe here.

Leave a Reply

