Monday’s Musings

Hello Everyone and Happy Monday!

I hope you all enjoyed a wonderful Sunday and spent some time worshipping the Lord.  Last week I told you how Pastor Parrett had started a message on the “Seven Disciplines for the Victorious Christian Life” and I promised you the list this week.  I didn’t actually get to sit and hear it yesterday (nursery duty).  But I do have the list and the Scriptures to go with each one.

1. Keep Your Heart (Proverbs 4:23)

2. Watch For Your Soul  (Heb. 13:17)

3. Rule Your Spirit   (Prov. 25:28; 16:32)

4. Captivate Your Mind (2 Cor. 10:4-6)

5. Bring Your Body Into Subjection (1 Cor. 9:27)

6. Tame the Tongue (James 3)

7. Commune with the Holy Spirit (2 Cor 13:14)

I truly believe these are 7 things we need to do to grow spiritually.  My goal is to pray through each one and ask the Holy Spirit to help me grow in each area.  “Captivate you Mind” – how many of us worry and stew about things instead of remembering that God will “keep him in perfect peace whose mind is stayed on” God. (Is. 26:3)?  There are so many precious promises in God’s Word.  I think I might put these into poster format so I can print it off and hang it somewhere I can see if every day.  If I do I’ll post as a freebie on here.

Last week overall was VERY busy.  Darius started having fevers from teething (that poor tooth is still not all the way down!) and hardly ate anything all week, but still remained pretty happy considering.  If he saw mommy that’s all he wanted but if I stayed out of the picture he was pretty good with other people.  Camp was busy as I had a class of 11 6-8 year olds; 7 of whom were boys!  It was a fun class, though.  I was pleasantly surprised at how well-behaved they were (for the most part).  Services were a little longer this week (but I heard the preacher was really good) so it took a bit more planning each day to keep the children under control.  Overall I think we all had a good week.  I’m definitely looking forward to some rest.  So glad today is a holiday and Hazen is home to rest with me.

This week I’m planning on trying some butter tarts (first time ever!) and a pinterest-inspired recipe called Lemon Melting Moments (cookies with cream in the middle).  So be prepared for a recipe or two.  I’ll also be trying to post a picture of my quiet book pages each day so you can all see what the children made for a craft the two Family Camp weeks.  AND, I have a sewing order for those cushiony straps that go around car seat belts.  I’ve been thinking of making some for Darius and then I had a customer email and ask me to make some for her.  Perfect timing.  Maybe I’ll keep that post for next week, though.  Can’t do too much in one week! =)

Have a wonderful week all!

Leave a Reply

