Recipe and a GIVEAWAY!

At the beginning of the week I told you about my Tuesday dinner party where I was making scalloped potatoes for the first time ever.  Normally I wouldn’t try something for the first time when I’m having people over but I was having ham and ham just naturally goes with scalloped potatoes.  Well, they totally turned out and were so incredibly yummy.  Here is the incredible: Crock Pot Scalloped Potatoes…

12 medium potatoes                 1 c. shredded cheese

1/4 c chopped onion                  1/2 c butter

1 c sour cream                          1 tsp salt

1 can cream of chicken soup         1/2 tsp pepper

Peel and chop potatoes; cook in water to cover for 3 minutes; drain.  Add remaining ingredients; mix well.   Spoon into crockpot.  Cook on high for 2 hours.

Oh, and btw, I found this recipe on Cooks.com.  It is one of my favorite recipe websites.  I find a lot of recipes on it that are useable.

And the GIVEAWAY!!!   It’s actually related to the kitchen in a way so I figured it went along with my recipe.  I won a fabulous set of printables off of Nicole’s blog “A Living Sacrifice”.  And I have enjoyed using them in my home to make my life more organized.  The set includes:

Printable Recipe Cards 3x5" and 4x6"

               Recipe cards in 3×5 and 4×6 sizes, address labels, book labels, menu plan, round labels for anything you might want (you can label your spice jars with them), and two different shopping list styles, one that outlines each section of the grocery store and just a simple lined grocery list.  Each is done in the above Americana style in both red and blue so you can choose.  Nicole personlizes each one with whatever you want them to say.  I don’t have pictures of each one.  My menu plan says “Cunningham Dinners”, my shopping lists say, “Amanda’s Groceries”.  The address labels come with a “warrenty” Laughing out loud, Nicole will change the address if you move in the future. 

These are printables: Nicole gives details of what labels to buy (the Avery numbers, etc) for each one.   I found I liked the menu plans because I could write out recipes or things needed for each dinner (I don’t plan breakfast or lunch).  I kept it on the side of my fridge as a back-up because I already have a menu board that I use (a pinterest-inspired one!).  I haven’t used the book labels yet or the round labels as I wasn’t ready to tackle the job of putting labels on all my books.  I’ll keep them handy and when I loan out a book I can just add the label to the inside then (books are my friends!).  I like the more organized shopping list.  I keep it on my fridge and whenever I think of something that needs to be bought, it’s handy for me to write it down.  I also like the recipe cards as I tend to use a lot of recipes off the internet.  Sometimes I forget to save the website, but if I write it down right away I don’t have to worry about losing the website.  =)  Yeah for organization! 

So, here is the Giveaway:  Nicole is offering a full set of these printables.  To enter leave me a comment below telling how you organize (or don’t as the case may be) your kitchen.  For an extra entry link this giveaway to your blog and leave me a link; and/or share on facebook!  Just don’t forget to tell me that you did!  Contest closes on Tuesday at midnight and the winner will be announced on Wednesday at noon. 

4 thoughts on “Recipe and a GIVEAWAY!

  1. Well I am trying out some new organizing methods for our recipes. I am using an accordion type file folder for most of our recipes. Plus my Mom has a small recipe box that we use. But I need to change it up. I am wanting something that I can give a copy of our favorite recipes to my sister living in Switzerland. And I want to be able to have own copy as well.
    So now I have some beautiful recipe cards (Thanks Nichole!!) that I am hoping to use this summer to make it our recipes better for all three of us!

  2. I’ll be honest I’m a very busy mom that lacks in
    the organizing department. I have set a goal
    this month to organizing 1 room a week. My hall closet was first spot done. All kids meds in a lid tight container that’s labelled. All homeopathic stuff in a lid tight container labelled as well as all bedding is folded and stored in cute deco baskets. 🙂

    • It did come through but I won’t post both. I have to approve the first time you post. =) Thanks for joining the giveaway!

Leave a Reply

