Recipe and a NOT SO funny story.

I realized this week that I haven’t posted a recipe in a while.  That is because I haven’t really done any baking or made any exciting meals in a while.  I was in a rut.  But this week I opened my freezer and saw that I had about a million bananas (okay, slight exaggeration) in the door of the freezer.  Of course, I HAD to make something with at least some of them to deplete the population.  See, my husband has this thing for bananas.  He has to have a banana every day for his lunch.  However, they must be green bananas.  If they are not green, he will not eat them.  Now, I’m sure most of you know how quickly bananas turn yellow and then brown.  So, by the end of the week, he will not eat the bananas, hence the million bananas in my freezer, lol.

I pulled out my Crosby’s Molasses Family Favorites cookbook and found a delish banana bread recipe.  I’ve never used molasses in my banana bread before and you don’t really notice the taste, to be honest.  But there is a slightly different flavour than regular banana bread.

Here is the Decadent Banana Loaf recipe:

3 tbsp butter                  1 tsp baking soda

3/4 c sugar                     1 tsp baking powder

3 overripe bananas           3/4 c walnuts (optional)

2 tbsp molasses                1/2 c choco chips (opt)

2 eggs

1 3/4 c flour

Preheat oven to 350 F.  Cream butter and sugar, mix in bananas, molasses, and eggs until smooth.  Mix together flour, baking soda, and baking powder.  Add to wet ingredients and beat until smooth.  Fold in walnuts and/or chocolate chips.  Baking 81/2×41/2 inch loaf pan at 350 F for 1 hour or until done.

IMG_2729

Now, the funny story (or not so funny) that accompanies this recipe has to do with my bake ware.  I LOVE silicone.  I first heard about it when I was in Africa.  A missionary wife from Switzerland used it for everything.  When I got married I had it on my wedding registry.   I got muffins pans, cookie sheets, loaf pans, square pans, spatulas, a strainer…tons of it!  And I still love it!  When you first get it you don’t have to spray it or oil it or anything.  Your baking just slides right now.  Mine is quite seasoned now and I have to oil it for it to come out properly. 

This particular day I had baked my banana loaf in a loaf pan and in muffin cups.  When I pulled them out of the oven I place them on the stove top to cool.  Then I began to make supper.  I peeled and cut potatoes and placed in a pot with some water.   Then I placed them on the back burner of the stove with the muffins on the front burner still cooling.  I thought I checked carefully to make sure I turned on the right burner.  Alas, I did not!  A bright whooosh of a flame awoke me to that fact.  However, it took a few precious seconds for me to realize what was wrong.  I turned off the burner, but unfortunately, the silicone was already burning.  So into the sink it went.  I hauled out the muffins that were still good and poured cold water over the rest.  What a mess.  Who knew silicone would go on fire????  Yikes.  That can’t be good for your food.   So, my lovely muffin pan had a couple of melted holes in the bottom and is now resting peacefully in the garbage.  Sigh.  At least I still have a large 6-cup muffin pan.  I guess silicone is only good for the oven, lol.

Enjoy the recipe.  Have a great JUNE 1st Everyone!

Leave a Reply

