Recipe of the week

Okay, so I don’t have a picture (I know, shame, shame) but I wanted to share the most wonderful granola bar recipe (and so EASY!).

So, this is another one from my sister (that she had never tried) and I don’t know where she got it, so I can’t give credit where it is due, sorry. =(

Easy, peasy Granola Bars

1/2 cup butter

40 marshmallows

Whatever else you want in it (eg. oatmeal, any kind of cereal, sunflower seeds, dried cranberries, chocolate chips, etc.

So you melt the butter and marshmallows together (just like you were going to make rice krispies).  Then you remove from the heat and add whatever you want!   I added dried cherries, dried mangoes, sunflower seeds, rice krispies, cheerios, and oatmeal.  I didn’t have a lot of any of them, but, wow, are they good.  I think the marshmallows add the sweetness that I need because I generally don’t like granola bars but these are good.  And the dried fruit I added had way too much sugar on their own (kinda nasty to eat right out of the bag) but were perfect for this recipe.

I even thought, if I’d had some, that I could melt chocolate chips and drizzle them over the granola bars so they’d be like chocolate dipped.  Yum.  Maybe next time….

Enjoy!  =)

Leave a Reply

