Chocolate Chip Coffee Cake

Here is the recipe I promised at the start of the week.  It is chock-full of sugar and the yum factor is out of this world!  However…I’m working on kicking sugar out of my diet as much as possible so this recipe will probably not be on bake-again list (unless it’s for a church function or something as my husband will be very upset if I don’t make it again).

Chocolate Chip Coffee Cake

1 c chopped walnuts or pecans (I don’t actually use nuts in recipes so this optional)

3/4 cup semisweet chocolate pieces (I used chocolate chips)

1/2 cup granulated sugar

1/2 cup packed brown sugar

1 tsp ground cinnamon

2 cups all-purpose flour

1 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/8 tsp salt

1 cup granulated sugar

1/2 cup butter, softened

2 eggs

1 8-ounce carton dairy sour cream (I used buttermilk instead as I didn’t have sour cream and it was fine)

1 tsp vanilla

1. Preheat oven to 350 degreeF.  Grease a 13×9 baking pan; set aside.  For filling, in a medium bowl combine nuts, chocolate pieces, the 1/2 cup granulated sugar, brown sugar, and cinnamon, set aside

2. In a small bowl combine flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt; set aside.  In a large mixing bowl combine the 1 cup granulated sugar and butter; beat with an electric mixer on medium speed until well combined.  Beat in sour cream and vanilla.  Add flour mixture to the beaten mixture, beating until smooth. (Batter will be thick).  Set aside 1 cup of batter.

3. Evenly spread remaining batter in the prepared pan.  Sprinkle filling over batter.  Spoon reserved batter over filling in small mounds.

4. Bake about 40 minutes or until a wooden toothpick inserted in the centery comes out clean.  Cool slightly; serve warm.

This recipe is taken from the Better Homes and Gardens New Cookbook.  I was lucky enough to inherit it from a friend when we roomed together a few years ago.  It has been my companion since I moved to Nova Scotia.   Don’t you all wish you had one? =)

And just a quick peek at last week’s sleeper that I made…partly from a pattern but to custom measurements…it’s not perfect but I’m hoping it fits the little boy it was made for.

Image

The back…with zipper opening.

ImageThe front.  The material is a cotton weave and I used a jersey/lycra material for the cuffs (to make them stretchy).

I haven’t done much sewing this week.  Yesterday I buckled down and finished off the onesie dress shirt I was supposed to have done last week as well as a skirt for myself (the 20 minute skirt – yes please!) and a bib to add to the dress shirt order.  A very cute bib I might add.  I haven’t uploaded the pics yet, though…so keep an eye out.  Have a wonderful Saturday morning everyone and I hope you all enjoy your coffee cake!

2 thoughts on “Chocolate Chip Coffee Cake

    • Hey Brino…I make buttermilk out of regular milk and vinegar. You could try it with your lactose-free milk. You make it by putting 1Tbsp of vinegar in a measuring cup and then filling it up with milk…then let it sit for 5 minutes or so. I’m sure it would do the same thing with your lactose-free milk.

Leave a Reply

