Hello Friday!

It’s a holiday, whoot, whoot! You know, for living in such a secular society (who claim they don’t believe in God), an awful lot of our “statutory” holidays are based on Christian customs.
I love Easter weekend. There’s just something about this holiday in April that screams BEGINNINGS to me. New life, spring…even the holiday itself about new life in Christ. You’re allowed to wear white again (although I must confess I wore a white skirt last weekend)…flowers start to pop out, the sun starts to shine more…it’s so fresh!
Okay, so you can call me weird, lol. A lot of my friends already do!
So random change of topic…I was so impressed by something my pastor said on Wednesday at church and I wanted to share it with you all before I head off the computer for the weekend (yes, I like taking sabbaticals from the internet).
Pastor Parrett has been talking about our dress standards on Wednesday nights as he finishes up his Proverbs study with a look at the virtuous woman. This particular evening he was talking about being conformed to this world. Most of know this verse in Romans 12 by heart but for those who don’t it states in verses 1 and 2…”I beseech ye therefore brethen by the mercies of God that ye present your bodies a living sacrifice, holy, acceptable unto God which is your reasonable service. And be not conformed to this world but be ye transformed by the renewing of your mind that ye may prove what is that good and acceptable and perfect will of God”. As the pastor explained this verse he asked the question, “What is worldly?” We, as Christians, have compromised so much that lately we have to ask ourselves…what is worldly? Every person needs to find that out for themselves but I do believe our pastors have a pretty good standard (at least fundamental Bible-believing pastors)…our Bible is the final authority and as our pastor has been showing us, it’s a lot more specific on certain issues then we often think. We need to make sure we are not being conformed to this world: in our dress, our speech, and our actions. What a convicting thought!
Have a wonderful Resurrection celebration weekend everyone!

Leave a Reply

