Apple Chips

I promised this recipe last week and, once again, I forgot!  Mommy brain, I promise…lol.  This is one of the best recipes my sister has given me.  I made it according to the recipe but the next time I will be making a few changes and I’ll explain those as we go.

APPLE CHIPS

2 apples, rinsed and dried  (I may also peel them as, according to a recent article, apples carry the most pesticides)

juice of two lemons

2 cups of water

1 1/2 cups of white sugar

2 tbsp of cinnamon

1. Preheat oven to 200 degrees

2. In small pot combine water and sugar over high heat to make a syrup; set aside

3. Cut apples into thin slices; remove seeds (don’t cut them too thin or they will burn before they are finished)

4. Drizzle slices with lemon juice, dip in syrup, and set on a baking sheet  (I actually felt they were a little too sugary when finished so I might ignore this step when I make them again)

5. Sprinkle with cinnamon

6. Bake 2 1/2 to 3 hours

Leave the oven store slightly ajar to let moisture escape.  Remove the apples from the oven when golden and slightly crispy. (they will crisp up more when they are out of the oven).

These are so yummy.  And if you do leave off the sugar syrup, they’ll be pretty healthy, too.   I did try this same idea with potatoes and it didn’t quite work the same.  So, I’m still looking for a potato chip recipe that actually works.  But the apples do become chips and are so good.  I can’t tell you how good they are!  I hope you enjoy!

Leave a Reply

