Sunday

“I will lif up mine eyes unto the hills from whence cometh my help. My help cometh from the Lord which made heaven and earth. He will not suffer they foot to be moved: he that keepeth thee will not slumber. Behold, he that keepeth Israel shall neither slumber nor sleep. The Lord is they keeper, the Lord is thy shade upon thy right hand. The sun shall not smite thee by day, nor the moon by night. The Lord shall preserve thee from all evil: he shall preserve thy soul. The Lord shall preserve thy going out and they coming in from this time forth, and even for evermore.” Psalm 121

This is one of my favorite chapters in the book of Psalms. I memorized this ages ago (although I confess that I copied it today from my Bible – I wanted to make sure I had it correct). It came to mind this morning as I sat thinking about God’s word. I am so tired this morning, but the Bible promises that the Lord will be our keeper and our shade. He is there to hold us up. He will help us!

A few years ago I began making a journal of the attributes of God. It was based on the book by Mardi Collier “What Do I Know About My God”. I confess I haven’t put too much in it since I used it that one but I’ve been convicted about continuing my study of God in scripture. This chapter, though, fits under many categories of God’s attributes. And the neat thing about the book is that when you are struggling and don’t know where to turn, it’s all there for you in categories. So when you’re discouraged you can look up the attribute of God being our Helper and find all kinds of verses that show how God has been our helper. And this morning, I have to admit, I need that encouragement.

Leave a Reply

