Recipe of the week!

Okay, so I got the neatest little recipe book with a package of molasses that I picked up at Cosco recently.  It has a ton of recipes from entrees to desserts that call for molasses.  I’ve already tried a number of them and they are sooooo incredibly yummy.  The only one that didn’t work so well was the rib one and that’s because they were a little over-cooked (that’s what happens when you leave hubby home with the baby and food in the oven lol).

So I picked this yummy fajita marinade for this week’s recipe.  I used it to make fajitas and then I used it last night to marinade steak as well.  It is so yummy.  Again, as will most recipes, I rarely have all the ingredients so it would probably taste even yummier with all the right ones, lol.  I’ll write out the recipe and let you know what I changed/didn’t use, etc.

Marinade

1/4 c molasses

1/4 oil

2 tbsp lime juice (okay didn’t have this so I used lemon juice instead – had a nice flavour)

2 tsp chili powder (I didn’t actually measure – just dumped)

1/2 tsp oregano leaves (the first time I made it I didn’t realize I had oregano so it got left out)

1/2 cup chopped onion

2 garlic cloves, minced (I have never used fresh garlic and didn’t have powder on hand so this got left out)

1. In medium bowl, combine all marinade ingredients

2. Mix well

3. Add meat; stir to coat

4. Cover; marinate 4 to 6 hours or overnight, stir occasionally (I didn’t read this until I got ready to make the fajitas so they only marinated for like 20 minutes…still tasted good =))

5. Then cook your meat as normal.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

