Recipe of the Week

Well, since I have missed posting for a few days I decided to do two today! Yes, I tried out this recipe for home-made nutri-grain bars and it totally worked! Even though I substituted half the ingredients, lol. I was a little low on some items, hehehe.

So, here is the recipe (sorry, I didn’t get any pictures =( ).

1/2 Greek yogurt (I substituted 1/2 c of sour milk)
1/4 c of brown sugar (I was thinking that I could probably use applesauce
instead of the sugar but I did use sugar this time)
1 egg (I didn’t have any eggs so I ended up using 3 Tbsp of mayonnaise)
1 tsp vanilla
1 1/4 c whole wheat flour (again, didn’t have ww so I used white – bad, I
know!)
1 c of oats
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp cinnamon

1. Mix yogurt and brown sugar
2. Add egg and vanilla
3. Stir in dry ingredients
4. Shape into a ball, cover with plastic wrap, and place in the freezer for
about 30 min.
5. Roll or press dough into a rough rectangle (you can trim the edges so
they are square) Cut into squares 3 – 4″ by 4″
6. Spoon fruit onto the square, fold the dough in half, and press seams to
close.
7. Bake @ 350 for 20min.

I didn’t do a very good job of pressing the seams together so my jam (yes, I substituted jam for real fruit, lol) ran out a bit when they cooked. Also, we found they tasted much better the second day than they did right out of the oven. I ended up making a mistake and had to double the batch so I tried making some into just cookies with jam thumbprints in the center. Hazen didn’t like those as much as the real bar.
Also, you need to roll the dough as thin as possible because it does puff as it cooks, so if you make it thick it will end up REALLY thick, lol.
Hope you enjoy making these…you can make them as healthy as you want, too, which is the nice thing about them. They are so much better for you than the store-bought variety!

Leave a Reply

