A VERY rough copy

So I like to play around with poetry a little bit and a couple of weeks ago I woke up thinking about seeing my parents both doing devotions (or the evidence of such). So I sketched this out – but it is in its very rough form and I realize that parts don’t quite rhyme yet…but here goes…

I see Daddy’s Bible
It’s sitting on the chair.
He must have been up early
For last night it wasn’t there.
I wonder what he read from,
I’ll check the open page.
Thank you, God, for Daddy
Staying close to You today!

I want to be like Daddy, Lord
And spend some time each day,
Just reading in Your Bible
And growing close to You this way.
I know my Daddy loves You,
For the evidence is clear
May my children see me growing
As my Daddy’s Lord I learn to fear.

Shhh, I see Mommy sitting,
She’s sitting in that chair.
She got up way before me
To spend time with God in prayer.
Let’s leave her till she’s finished
No interruptions here.
Thank you, God, for Mommy,
Staying close to You today.

I want to be like Mommy, Lord,
And spend some time each day,
Just talking to You quietly,
Growing close to You each day.
I know my Mommy loves You
For the evidence is clear.
May my children see me growing
As my Mommy’s Lord I learn to fear.

For my parents: Wayne and Myrtle Myers – who brought me up in the nurture and admonition of the Lord. May my children see this same evidence of loving the Lord, that I saw and still see, in me.

Leave a Reply

