Long Time No See

We used to say this to people that we would just bump into when out doing errands. I remember it and laughing all the time. But it really has been a while since I’ve been on here. Although from my stats it appears that people are still coming to check out my blog. For which I appreciate and I apologize for not writing sooner.
Life has gotten busy but I am so thankful for it. I do not enjoy sitting around doing nothing! =) God has given me so many things to do and I wonder how much I’ll be able to keep up with and what I will have to say no to eventually.
So, since my wedding I have been busy learning to be a housewife. Stretching our budget so we can save wherever we can. I LOVE the Halifax Market. I think it is my favorite place to go. I managed to get so much produce this summer – and I’m anxious to see how much they’ll have over the winter months. Plus getting milk and meat there. It is so much cheaper than the grocery store. And we got apples in the valley that I have made into applesauce and canned and apple pies and all kinds of yummy concoctions. Then I got cranberries and froze some and made cranberry juice with others. The cranberry juice is absolutely amazing (although, note to self, use a cheesecloth to strain or it is quite pulpy). I have chopped and bagged beets, and onions, and green peppers, and blueberries and all manner of fruits and vegetables. The Lord has truly blessed me.
Then this week I checked out some books from the library on using basic products to clean house and body instead of harsh chemicals that we find in most grocery/department stores. So today I cleaned my bedroom carpet with a mixture of baking soda and borax and lavender oil sprinkled on the floor and then dry mopped with vinegar and warm water…it smells so good in my bedroom now and the carpet looks like new…who knew?
I do have to admit that I caved and bought bleach to clean the mold in the grout on my shower tile…I have not been able to get rid of it since we moved and it was amazing – it literally disappeared before my eyes…Yeah! Clean bathrooms are so exciting to me!
I love learning new GOOD ways to clean my house and myself. I use tea tree oil for everything and I love it – although I seem to have misplaced my bottle of it lately. I’m really learning that baking soda can be an awesome cleaner…even for hair!
Something new I want to try I heard online this week. Using egg and baking soda for shampoo and apple cidar vinegar as a conditioner. It sounds so awesome. Apparently you do need to be careful about hair types, etc…so I am not responsible if you try it and it ruins your hair…lol
Well, I think that’s all for now…I’m running out of breath…

Leave a Reply

