Life

I titled this “Life” because I didn’t know how else to title.  Life is about saying meeting new friends and saying good bye to them.  It’s the latter part that is hard.  I was sitting today talking to a friend on Facebook chat and it made me miss her intensely.  Her and I both mentioned how amazed we were at how close we had gotten.  I have literally known her only a year, but I feel like I’ve known her my entire life.  When I moved here to the valley last year I thought she was quiet and hard to get to know.  We taught in side-by-side classrooms and eventually we had to get to know each other.  As the year progressed we spent a lot of time talking about how the Lord was working in our lives, about the things we were struggling with, etc.  I think lasting friendships are based on that.  I miss her so much!  We were discussing today our devotional life and Scripture memory work.  I am so thankful for the internet that allows to continue talking about that.  We need people to keep us accountable in that area of our lives otherwise we will often fall away.  I, myself, find it easy to ignore my devotions.  I have no trouble with prayer.  I learned one day that I could talk to God like my friend and I have ever since.  No matter where I am I find myself discussing things with Him.  If I’m angry I tell Him that I’m not ready to let go of it (which generally makes me let go of it…lol).  When I’m sad I ask Him to wrap His arms around (and it’s incredible but sometimes it feels like there really are arms around me).  When I’m happy I thank Him for the blessings He’s given me.  It’s incredible.  But, I have trouble sitting and opening my Bible and letting Him speak to me.  How weird is that?  I mean most conversations work when the other person is allowed to speak as well.  And it’s not that I don’t enjoy reading my Bible.  I do!  I learn so much from it when I take the time to sit down and actually read it!  It’s the taking time thing though that is often a problem for me.  =(  However, I am going to work on that this year.  And with my friends’ help we will both grow stronger in our relationship with the Lord even if we can’t see each other face to face.

Leave a Reply

