Day Two and Counting…lol

What a glorious day!    I think I am in love with the sun. =)   There is a chilly breeze, but the birds are singing and the warmth in streaming in my window.  Today has been a day of blessings.  Talking with friends online, found music I had been searching for, ate a good meal, and my apartment is, for once, in a state of clean.  Who could ask for more?  Okay, well, actually, I could ask for more.  LOL…but I’ll let you guess as to what that “more” is.

So, as of today my Facebook account will officially be deleted.  YEAH!  No more stalkers.  I’m still so confused about that.  I mean, if you meet someone once in your life, do you absolutely have to stay in touch with them?  Are you automatically considered friends?  Because some people honestly think so.  They feel that since I met them once they are entitled to know all my personal information.  I just don’t understand that.  Then you have those that you were friends with but who never talk to you.  You can send message after message but they ignore you.  Then when you delete them it takes them six months to realize you deleted them and they send you this nasty message wanting to know why you deleted them.  Again, why are they entitled to know my personal information?   I think that the internet has made the sharing of information way too easy.  I’m one of those people who enjoys writing letters (I know – strange).   But it used to be that if you really wanted to stay in touch with people you had to make a concerted effort to write or phone, etc.  Weeks and months could go by without having contact with that person.  But then, when you did get together the fellowship was so much sweeter because you had so much to catch up on!   You could talk about what had been happening in your life for the past weeks/months, etc.  Maybe facebook is just another way for Christians to gossip.  I mean, in one sense, you’ve shared your life already, so what else do you have to talk about when you get together?  At the same time, you can “stalk” other people’s profiles and find out information that is just too good to keep to yourself!  I think it comes back to the whole, too much information being online, problem. However, I don’t think the idea of facebook was a bad one.  I really enjoyed being able to stay in touch with so many people so quickly.  I could send short messages to many people in the same amount of time it would take to write one a personal email.  Too, I felt like I was actually spending time with people – seeing those intimate parts of their everyday lives that I don’t get to see living out in obscurity…lol.

I had to really think about whether or not having a blog would be the same.  But after much thought I have come to the conclusion that a blog is different.  I’m not sharing personal information for the most part.  Just general ramblings that may or may not interest people.  At the same time, it takes work to check up on someone’s blog.  You have to want to go that site and actually read the blog – not just their status or the short messages that people write on their walls.  The only people who are really going to do that are those who are completely interested in you (close friends and family).  And even then, chances are they’ll only check every couple of weeks or so.  I like having meaningful conversations with people.  Not shallow.  My mom has a saying that says, Small minds talk about people, Average minds talk about things, and Big minds talk about ideas.  I want to be counted somewhere between an average and big mind.  I don’t want to be anywhere close to a small mind.

So let’s think about ideas.  And the biggest one on my mind lately is, How can I become a better witness for Christ?  I have a hard time talking to people face to face.  So what can I do to overcome that?  That is the question for the day – and a totally opposite way to end today’s blog from the way I started it!  I hope you all ask yourself the same question and maybe post some answers in a comment.   May the Lord bless thee and keep thee and make His face to shine upon thee.

Leave a Reply

